Mustaches & Inspiration

Zdravo!  Blog enthusiasts!

Things are going well here at the MTC, but I would be lying if I said it was easy.  Sometimes it’s hard being a solo sister, but I love every minute of it.  I am still teaching lessons pretty much every day.  This week I also found out that after the older Slovenes leave on Tuesday I will be the only one at the MTC learning Slovene until another solo comes in December.  Guess you could say I am one of a kind lol.

My zone continues to be fun.  Everyone is excited because most of the zone is leaving this week.  All of the older Bulgarians wore fake mustaches on Wednesday because it was their last Wednesday. So that was pretty funny.

I feel like I am quickly progressing in the language…at least for me anyway.  This week I learned how to conjugate normal past, present, and future verbs.  I have been really blessed to be one-on-one with my teachers.  I have also been blessed in that I am never afraid to open my mouth and say something, even if it isn’t in perfect Slovene.  Since the Slovenes are leaving, I am trying to start thinking in Slovene, and it has helped a lot.

I have also been learning a lot spiritually as I prepare lessons and study with my teachers.  It is so amazing to be the instrument that the Lord uses in order to touch others’ lives.  This week I read a talk by Elder Holland that he gave in 2000 at the Brazil MTC.  No joke…it has changed my mission.  He says, “This is the hardest work you will ever do.  That’s why I say this is the most important work you will ever do. …So start now.  Just don’t look back.  Just put your face to the sun and put your shoulder into this work and give it everything you’ve got and savor everyday”.  Since I read that I have been trying my hardest to get over myself and go to work.  As I have realized that I am the Lord’s missionary and this is His mission, not mine, I have been doing a lot better in lessons and with the language.  I know that the Lord is blessing me and wants to bless all of us!  All we need to do is turn to Him.  I know that statement is true for everyone too.  If you are struggling with something, do everything you can and don’t look back!  The Lord will help you.  My first experience at the TRC, the place where volunteers come in and we teach them, was great.  I again taught by myself, but the person I taught told my teacher that he felt the Spirit when I taught, and he enjoyed it.  That made me feel good.

This week we also had a meeting with Sister Madsen, a very influential person in the former Yugoslavian area who just got back from our mission.  It was so exciting to hear her stories about the people there and how the mission is growing so much!  She said that President Rowe had recently said that the foundation was now laid, and it was time for the missionaries to start building the edifice of this great work!  Then he called her on the phone.  It was cool.  Everyone was excited.  I was just sitting there shaking my head and one of my teachers said, “It’s ok Sister Brown, you get to be here for 8 more weeks”.  I said, “I know, but I need it”.  lol

I bought a Slovene t-shirt today, the ones that all the missionaries have.  Cliché I know, but I got to represent.  There are so few of us.  I am the happiest I could be, and every day I am learning so much, I never want it to stop!  Thanks for everyone who has written me!  I really appreciate your letters.

Sestra Brown

CIMG3418CIMG3416CIMG3428

Posted on September 28, 2013, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

