Contacting & Throwing Pasta at Walls

Zdravo!

To be honest, not much happened this week in terms of things that are different, but it was still a good week.  One of the highlights of this week was contacting.  Now since I have two teachers teaching me instead of just one, we can do a lot more practicing things like contacting!  So this week my teachers demonstrated how NOT to contact.  It was probably the funniest thing I have ever seen in my life.

Sometimes it is so easy to get bogged down in the language that lessons seem to drag on.  My teachers, being students themselves with lives outside the MTC, always seem tired.  So one day I just said, “Why are you guys always tired?”  To which one of my teachers responded by starting to explain to me that missionary work should be fun.  They then said they were going to demonstrate how.  One of my teachers walked out of the room and back in and started talking to my other teacher about the Book of Mormon.  Except he was doing it as if he were that guy from the best two years!  The geek one.  Sorry if you haven’t seen this movie.  But it was soooo funny, especially to hear his accent in Slovene.  They paused when everyone was laughing too hard.  Then they switched off.  The other teacher came in and shook the first teacher’s hand.  But then he didn’t let go of his hand while he told him about the Book of Mormon.  When he finally did, the first teacher shook his hand like it hurt and walked away.  They did a couple of these scenes, each one more ridiculous than the last.  It was hilarious.

My teachers reminded me that I need to be excited about missionary work and share my beautiful personality with all those I come in contact with.  As a side note, I love having two teachers and I feel very blessed whenever they teach.  They have all these inside jokes in Slovene that I don’t understand, but I love listening to them when I am working on something else.  For example, yesterday I was doing language study on the board and all of a sudden I hear my teacher say, “How do you say ‘to stab’?” to my other teacher in English.  I laughed so hard.  My teachers also have made it a habit, since I am always so tired, to do some form of physical activity in class if we are getting too tired.  Yesterday we did a wall sit forever and I thought I was going to die.  When my teacher who is a sister comes in, sometimes we do jumping jacks.  It’s a lot of fun.

I am doing well, but it is crazy how fast my life seems to be going right now.  I can’t believe I only have about two weeks left.  The language is going well; I know the Lord is helping me and that it will all work out in the end.  It’s just hard sometimes because I feel like I am trying to throw pasta at a wall and it’s not sticking because it’s not cooked yet.  In this analogy, the wall is my brain and the pasta is Slovene.  But I have been assured that it will come.  Lessons are going really well.  They are having me plan and teach lessons with one of my teachers sometimes now.  It is good practice for teaching with a companion.

This week I also learned that sometimes I feel that in order to be giving 100%, I need to feel stressed.  But I learned that that is not true.  I don’t need to feel stressed to be doing my best (yes I just said that).  It was reiterated to me that if I am doing everything I can, then I should be calm and trust in the Lord.  He will help me do the things I need to do to further His work.  I don’t need to feel stressed because He doesn’t want me to be stressed.  He wants me to be happy.  I hope everyone is doing well.  I hope you can evaluate how stressed you are daily and then change your lives so that you aren’t as stressed!  I know it’s hard, but I know that we don’t have to be stressed if we turn to the Lord.  Thanks for all the letters and packages!  Two more weeks and I will be in Europe!!!

Sestra Brown

Posted on October 28, 2013, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

