A Krofi Filled Week!

živijio!

This week was pretty normal, but there are a few things that happened that are worth mentioning.

Like Pust!!  If you have been a missionary in Slovenia, you already know what this is, but for you who don’t know…I can best describe it is like this:  Pust is a week long holiday that is like Halloween, but more of a combination of Mardi Gras/Carnival and a celebration of the end of winter.  Kids dress up to scare away winter and go door to door to get candy and money.  But they also have parades with spectacular costumes.  My favorite part of the holiday is the Krofi!  Krofi is a food they sell in bakeries, and is pretty much a doughnut, but with less filling than American doughnuts.  But because it’s Pust, they have them super cheap.  Tomorrow is the last day of Pust, so I am hoping to buy some today.  On Thursday at English class, our class brought Krofi for us!  It was so cute.  They also told us that Thursday was Fat Thursday!  What country has a holiday just for eating doughnuts?  Obviously the Lord knew me very well when He sent me to Slovenia. 🙂

This week we didn’t teach a lot of lessons, but we did find a lot of amazing people.  We were out at night and were getting kind of frustrated because we didn’t know where to go.  I felt the Spirit guiding me to one block, but when I got there the feeling was gone.  I didn’t understand why God would lead me somewhere, if it wasn’t right.  I was starting to question whether or not I had felt it at all.  But I just walked the other way and figured that it had been for some purpose.  My companion and I were talking about receiving revelation and how we can receive more revelation.  We passed a lady at the bus stop and didn’t think anything of it, but then we both stopped and turned back to go and talk to her.  We figured that we should, and why not?  It was such a miracle; she was really friendly and even missed her bus to talk to us!  She took the Book of Mormon and asked for our numbers.  She said that she had quit smoking two years ago and was interested in reading the Book of Mormon.  Although she hasn’t called us back yet, I know she will.  I know that she has been prepared by the Lord to hear the gospel.  We also ran into a lady tracting yesterday and had a similar experience.

How often are our friends and family prepared to hear the gospel, but we are not listening to the promptings of the Spirit in order to know that they are interested?  Sometimes we just have to act in faith and trust in the promises that the Lord has given us that people will be blessed by the gospel of Jesus Christ.  Who do we know that would love the blessings that membership in our church has to offer?  I would think everyone.

I have found so much happiness and joy through getting to know my Savior and Heavenly Father better.  I really hope that everyone can feel the peace and joy that only comes from deepening your relationship with God.

I hope everyone has a great week!  Thanks for all your love and support.  And eat some Krofi, it is the season!

Sestra Brown

Posted on March 6, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

