Food Coma = Future Mission Fitness Celeb???

živjio!

I have officially decided that on the missionary applications there should be a section that measures your ability to eat copious amounts of food in the shortest amount of time.  Seriously, these people are so generous, I love them for that, but my stomach says otherwise.  Two days ago we went to two people’s homes and taught and it was wonderful.  At the first one we played scrabble and helped their daughter with her English, and at the second house we taught about the Book of Mormon.  It was good, but I seriously was praying so hard I could finish the food they gave us.  In the end I couldn’t, and had to take some home.  I think I will be in a food coma for the rest of my life.

This week we received a senior missionary couple!  They are really sweet and already came on a lesson with us.  I was so excited to meet them.  They are great!  It also means that I am not the youngest missionary, mission age wise, in the mission anymore.  There are people newer than me now.  So that is strange.  This week we planned a great activity for Easter, and also for district conference next week.  We all pooled our collective knowledge of stake youth activities and came up with a pretty great plan, I guess we will see how it goes.  I am just excited that we are finally getting some activities up and running!  I love planning them and seeing everyone mobilize, because they all have such great skills to share with others.

This upcoming week is going to be great.  We have a sisters conference on Wednesday, for the whole mission, which will focus on wellness and health.  My companion rolled her eyes.  We both think it’s going to be a great spa day kind of thing, but I am excited.  One of the sisters also asked us to be in a yoga work-out video with her that will be distributed to all the sisters in the mission.  This might be my only claim to fame in the mission, and should prove to be hilarious!  We also have district conference at the end of the week, President interviews, and transfers.  So there is a lot going on.

This week I realized the importance of being teachable, or humble.  Sometimes it’s hard for me to be humble, because when someone corrects my Slovenian it’s hard for me not to get hurt, or shy, or embarrassed.  But this week as I have tried to really just be teachable and humble and laugh at my little mistakes, I have seen great results.  I feel so much lighter and happier, and I know that this feeling only comes from the love of the Savior and from following His teachings.

I was watching the restoration film with a member family this week.  And it struck me again how much our Heavenly Father loves us.  Can you imagine the beautiful feeling it must have been for these people, to feel the spirit in such great abundance because of the blessings of the restoration for the first time?  Can you imagine how hard it must have been for Joseph after the First Vision, when he was literally the only one on the earth who knew what he knew?  The only one.  But I love what he says, “I knew it, and I knew that God knew it, and I could not deny it”.  This is how our testimonies should be.  They should be rooted in our personal conversion, the feelings and spiritual confirmations we have received as a result of the blessings from the restoration of the gospel.  This week let us all try and become more personally converted.  I know I am going to try!

Wishing you all the best!

Sestra Brown

Posted on March 13, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

