“Come, Listen to a Prophet’s Voice”

Hello!

Another great week on a mission of a Latter-day Saint missionary!

This week was conference week!  For those reading this blog who do not know what I’m talking about, twice a year we as members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints hold a General Conference, meaning that the entire Church gathers to watch messages given by the Prophet, Apostles, and other church leaders.  We believe that God has restored His Church back upon the Earth, and He has given us leaders to guide us in these days, even as leaders were given to guide the people of old (Amos 3:7 directly states that God gives us prophets; he doesn’t leave us without leaders to help us).  Each General Conference is split into five sessions, and a general women’s meeting.  I know that I have received guidance through this week’s conference, and I testify that God has restored His true church to the earth, and that this church is the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.  I realized that I dropped a few titles back there referring to leaders of the Church.  We believe that God leads the church through a prophet, a man He has called to do so.  He has done this throughout the scriptures, and continues to do so today (again, Amos 3:7).  Christ also called apostles while on the earth to lead His church.  He continues to do so today; twelve apostles lead under the direction of the First Presidency (comprised of the Prophet and two apostle-counselors).

I understand that for many, the concept of this form of leadership may be difficult to accept as truly God’s way of leading the people of the earth.  I know that the Church is true, but I also have a testimony of a certain principle, which is: you cannot know anything for yourself if you choose not to do so.  Each one of us is responsible for finding out for ourselves what is true and what is not.  I testify that Thomas S. Monson is the Lord’s prophet today.

Today, as a member and as a missionary, I wish to extend only two small invitations to those who read this blog.

First, to those who do not share my belief that God has a called a prophet to lead us in this day, I plead with you to make the step to find out for yourself whether or not my words are true.  To do so, I exhort you to watch this one talk: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/watch/2014/04?lang=eng&vid=3438391980001&cid=11.  That is the man I know to be the one called of God to be our prophet.  Succinctly stated, my invitation to you is to find out for yourself whether he is a prophet or not, first by watching that talk, and then asking of God.  I bear witness that through experimentation and earnest prayer; we may each know the truth of all things, for as stated in the Book of Mormon:

And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost. And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.” (Moroni 10:4-5).

Second, to those who do share my belief, I similarly challenge you to share one of his talks and your testimony with just one person you know.  I’ve come to realize that I’d feel a lot better about myself if I was doing more to help those I love come unto the truth, for that is where happiness is found.  At the moment, I can’t do as much as I previously could to share the truth with those at home.  I love my opportunity to serve as a full-time missionary, but how great would it be to see those I love back home come to a knowledge of the truth?  This cannot occur, however, if they never receive an invitation.  As Preach My Gospel puts it, “People will not likely change unless they are invited to do so” (PMG, 196).  I hope we can all give those we love the chance to find everlasting happiness.

Wishing everyone a happy week,

Varstnicul Brown

Posted on April 9, 2014, in Elder Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

