“Don’t Leave Home Without Them”….Tights, Mr. Malden, Tights!

živijo!

When it rains in Slovenia, it rains hard and somehow randomly, too.  Like yesterday when my companion and I were caught in the rain without jackets or tights or umbrellas.  But it was warm rain, so it wasn’t too bad.  Except everybody thought we were crazy!  Probably not a good thing to do as a missionary…because who wants to talk to the crazy girls who obviously have a death wish?  Well as it turns out, a lot of people, because we are crazy and they need to tell us so, haha.  We visited a couple that came to the Easter concert.  They are a really sweet catholic couple.  We were able to talk about prayer and our direct communication with God.  It was a really spiritual conversation where we explained that we can directly talk to God and that it is not necessary to pray to saints.  But when we were leaving, the husband asked us if we had an umbrella…haha confession time.  We said “no”, and while we were explaining that we would be fine, his wife touched my leg, and then my companion’s leg!!!  I didn’t even know what was happening, and then she said, with utter shock and disbelief, “brez nogovice?!!” which means, “without tights?!!”  Obviously this simply would not do, and so he went downstairs and got us two wonderfully bubbly rain ponchos and an umbrella.  I really was soaked through, so I figured we should wear them.  They actually were pretty cool, although I think the young kids thought we were crazy.  We did look completely ridiculous and funny, like giant marshmallows…haha, but it was great!  Needless to say, I now carry nogovice on me when I go out just in case.  But seriously you can’t leave home without your tights!  This is a life lesson I have learned.

The concert that we had for Easter this week was also a great success!  About 70 people came and half of them were inactive or not a member of our church!  The spirit was so strong and I didn’t end up having to sing a solo, which was lucky for me and everyone there.  We did sing “I know that my Savior lives” and “I believe in Christ”.  Everyone said it was beautiful, but I know that it was just the Spirit that was there bearing witness of the divine role of the Savior.

This week I also realized more fully how much the Lord cares for His children.  I don’t know how to describe it, but we were working with a lot of inactive members this week and I can just feel God’s love for them.  When I meet with them and see how they are struggling in their lives without the gospel, and they tell me about their conversion stories, I know that God really cares for them and wants them to come back to His gospel.  This feeling strengthens me when I think about how much God must love me.  I also think that this doesn’t just apply to members who are less active, but also to each one of us.  When we sin or don’t live up to our potential, we separate ourselves from God, but He still loves us!  He still wants us to come back, not for Him, but for us!  Because He knows the way that we can be the most happy!  I am so glad that I am blessed to feel this love and joy in my life.

I hope that you are all doing well.  This week I would invite you to take time to really think about how much God loves you.  And as you feel His love in your life, make changes in order to feel more of it everyday!  I know as you do that you will find what you are looking for!

“And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:13

I love that verse and I know that it is true!

I hope that you have a wonderful week! And that Easter was great!

Sestra Brown

Posted on May 1, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

