Awe = Summer in the Julian Alps

zivijo!

This week was a pretty good week.  I will probably not be able to write much because I just came back from an amazing day trip to Bohinj, one of the most beautiful places in Slovenia!  We took bikes and rode up to a waterfall and back.  The round trip was about 16km if I am not mistaken, which is probably more than I have ever biked in my whole life.  But how beautiful it was!  It was so green.  There was a dark green mountain lake with white swans swimming on it.  The senior couple went fly fishing while the younger folk went up to the Savica Waterfall (the most famous one in Slovenia).  It truly was something that you could only imagine.  It was a once in a life time opportunity, and I am so grateful that I got to go.  I just kept thinking how wonderful it was that God created this beautiful place for me to enjoy!  Maybe I will get into mountain biking when I get back, but I will probably have to get in shape first.  Haha!

This week was also wonderful because we met our new mission president, President Grant.  He is definitely different from President Rowe.  He was joking about the missionaries getting married after their mission and everything.  He just has a different vibe, but I am confident that he was called here by a prophet of God to do the Lord’s work.  I am excited to get to work more with him.  It was just funny to see how different two mission presidents can be.

We were able to meet some of our goals in teaching this week.  We handed out more Book of Mormons and had some wonderful lessons.  The fourth of July was pretty normal, but we celebrated with a missionary lunch and it was good.  I quoted some of my favorite phrases from the “Sandlot” movie (family tradition), but I don’t think anyone understood.  I also got to teach the young women’s class at church this week.  That was an interesting experience in another language, but it worked out.

This week I learned the importance of communication.  If you are communicating poorly, nothing works and everybody just gets confused.  But if you really focus on what you are going to say, and think about it before you just spit it out, then it is much easier to figure things out.  So many things get lost in translation.  But when I am really trying hard to communicate with someone, the Spirit guides, and they are able to feel that what I am saying is very important, and they hardly ever get offended.  There is a mutual understanding and you are able to grow together to help one another.  I feel like it is one of the most important and difficult lessons to learn.

I hope that you all had a great fourth.  Thanks for all the prayers and letters!

Sestra Brown

P1010384P1010421

Posted on July 10, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

