God Is in the Details of Our Lives

This week I learned that God is in the details of our lives.  It was amazing to see that God blessed us with three distinct miracles yesterday.

It all started at a member’s house.  We were teaching about the power of hymns and how they can bring the Spirit.  Unfortunately, the member we were teaching couldn’t find her hymn book.  As she was reading the talk we had brought for her, I reached down, grabbed my bag, and started looking through it.  I found a program from the concert that we had in Ljubljana earlier in the week.  At the concert, I felt I should grab a program just for a keepsake.  I felt that impression two or three times, so I put one in my bag and didn’t think more of it…until now.  As I picked up the program, I flipped it over and saw the lyrics to this member’s favorite hymn on the back.  We were able to sing it and really bring the Spirit to the lesson, and bless the life of her and her non-member son.

When we left the house we tried to go visit another family.  We were out in the middle of nowhere and my companion had to go to the restroom.  We couldn’t go back, and it was too late to go to a store.  I felt we should walk up the street.  Five minutes up the street was a parking lot.  In the parking lot was a port-a-potty.  We were able to use it and go on searching for the family we wanted to see.

We weren’t able to find the family’s house.  It was dark and I started singing hymns because nobody was around…so why not sing?  Then my companion said, “We need to run”.  So we ran.  I had no idea why, or what was going on.  But as soon as we made it to a bus stop, it started to pour rain.  We still got a little wet when we had to cross the street to catch our bus, but we were saved from most of the downpour.

How many times does the Lord work miracles, but we are so busy that we don’t see them?  How many small things do we ignore, or simply not notice, that are actually markers and notes that God uses to tell us He loves us?  I know God is in the details of our lives.  He cares so much about His children that he will help us find a restroom in a parking lot.  This week I invite you to look and take notice of the small miracles in your lives.

My companion is finishing her mission and going home this week.  I will be picking up my new trainee, fresh from the MTC.  It will definitely be a great experience.

I love all of you and all of your support!  Thanks so much.

Sestra Brown

Posted on September 25, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

