New Mission Experience #??? – Slovenian Healthcare

zivijo!  še enkrat!!

I am back in Ljubljana and I have to admit it feels kind of strange.  A lot of people remember me and I can see how much happier they have become since last year!  It is amazing!

We had a baptism on Saturday, the second person baptized in the last three weeks here in Ljubljana.  What a great way to kick off my time in this city!  Other than some trouble filling the font all the way because the drain wasn’t closed properly, the baptism went off without a hitch.  It’s incredible to see all of these people getting baptized.  I am so grateful to be here at this great time.

This week was interesting because we went to Celje for a return and report meeting.  All of the trainers and trainees came to report about their first six weeks.  It was wonderful to see how much they have all grown in faith and learned to speak the language!  I know that God oversees this work, how else would these changes be possible in only 6 weeks!

But probably the strangest and most dramatic event of the week for me happened on Monday night, which seems like forever ago.  I was in a lot of pain because of a kidney stone.  When it happened we didn’t know what was causing the pain.  It was definitely an experience me and my trainee will never forget!  My poor companion didn’t know what to do when I was on the ground in pain, shaking.  But it was one of the most spiritual experiences ever when she prayed and my shaking stopped.  Then we were able to get help.  We decided to go to the hospital to make sure my appendix hadn’t ruptured.  Miraculously, I was able to explain my symptoms in Slovenian.  While I was getting my blood taken, I was able to talk to the nurse about missionaries.  It was wonderful, and although I never want to be in that much pain again, I know the Lord has blessed me so much with the ability to learn this language.  Seriously, there is no other way I would have learned Slovenian.

I returned to the hospital on Wednesday for an ultra-sound.  This was my first ultra-sound, and it tickled more than I expected.  Everything is all right now, and I have some muscle relaxant pills from the doctor.  This whole experience was amazing because of the level of peace I felt the entire time.  This peace has come from learning how to pace myself and trust in God.  I have been learning how to communicate with others and with God in a productive healthy way.  This has increased my confidence before the Lord.  I didn’t realize how important it is that we see ourselves as God sees us.  We need to celebrate the progress we make, and set goals to improve further.  Because I am developing this view, I don’t feel pressure to get everything done right away.  I have time, a whole eternity.  I am really starting to learn how to just enjoy my experiences.  I mean, how many people can say they went to the ER in Slovenia for a kidney stone on their mission?  It was wonderful.  I feel so at peace, but not complacent about my life, about where I am going, and what I am doing.  I know these feelings are based on slowly, but steadfastly, progressing towards the goal of eternal life.

I know a lot of people are dissatisfied with their life.  They are never happy and content with what they have.  They go from thrill to thrill to distract themselves.  I would like to tell them to look inward and truly try to figure out why they do what they do.  Accept that you can’t do everything perfect now, or get all you want now.  You cannot transform into the person you want to be overnight.  Only accepting this reality helps us to become humble enough to move forward with faith and truly rely on the Lord.  When we calmly accept that we are limited in what we can do, we learn that God will be the one who provides the miracle.  We are not perfect and God doesn’t expect us to be.  He only expects us to be heading in the right direction, wanting to become like Him, and being a little better every day.  I know this realization and acceptance is what brings the peace I now have.  I am finally trusting in the atonement of Jesus Christ instead of trying to do everything myself.  I love God and I know that someday I will be made perfect.  But until then, I will do what I can, and enjoy watching God transform my attempts into His miracles.

Love you all!

Sestra Brown

Posted on November 13, 2014, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

