“By Small and Simple Things Are Great Things Brought to Pass”

zivijo!

This week was wonderful!  I feel like my companion and I made some really great strides in our missionary efforts and it is only the beginning of the new year!  Aren’t beginnings so wonderful?  I hope you had a great new year, and that you set some good goals.

This week I had an exchange with the Maribor sisters.  It was wonderful to be back.  It was amazing to see how much the branch has grown in the short time I have been away.  And my old companion who is still in Maribor has grown so much.  She taught me so much, all the things that we had been struggling with, she had learned from and overcome.  I really started to see where the mission was heading.  I could see how the Lord is preparing this area of the world with wonderful missionaries who keep getting stronger!

Then the real miracle happened.  My companion and I got back together after the exchange and really exercised our faith in contacting.  I have been contacting before, but this was different.  This wasn’t just saying “Hi” or talking about the weather or whatever.  This was straightforward stopping people on the street and talking to them about our message.  I had been so scared of this for so long and I had tried to do everything I could to make it easier.  But I had been too prideful to just exercise my faith and go for it.

I know now that fear is just another form of pride, contention that comes from within.  When we fear to do the simple things that God has asked us we are in conflict.  It’s a hard place to live in.  I understand now that fears are real, but life is about conquering fear.  I finally feel like I can say, “I’m not by any means strong enough to overcome my fears or struggles, but the good news is I don’t have to be”.  I just need to trust and accept that “by small and simple things are great things brought to pass”.

I hope we can see our strengths how God sees them, and then apply Christ’s atonement to make them something extraordinary.  Thank you for your wonderful example to me.  And I would like to thank my Mom, who is one of the bravest people I know.  She has tried to teach me these principles my whole life, and how grateful I am now that I am finally learning them.  I love you Mom, Happy Birthday!

Sestra Brown

Posted on January 7, 2015, in Sister Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

