“And by the Power of the Holy Ghost Ye May Know the Truth of All Things”

Hello Everyone,

This week we were able to visit a few members for the first time.  One lives pretty far out in the countryside in a small village.  The countryside here isn’t like the green flats and mountains near Brasov.  It’s rolling yellow hills.  The village we visited was on a hill right above a beautiful lake.  This is such a beautiful country!  You don’t have to look very far outside the cities (not that they don’t have their own charm) to see that.

This week I improvised a pumpkin cake (substituting pumpkin for carrots in a carrot cake recipe), but the pumpkin wasn’t strong enough because, well, there was a lot of sugar.  I’m going to attempt to make cinnamon rolls with orange icing this week, but I don’t have a recipe at the moment, and I’ve never made real dough.  So I’ll let you know how it goes, it ought to be fun.

I wanted to share something that I’ve learned these past two transfers serving with my companion, which is how the witness of the Holy Ghost really works.  Every member in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has the privilege, if they are living worthy, of having the continual influence of the Holy Ghost in their lives.  The Holy Ghost’s influence can be felt in the form of continual peace, inner warmth, or calm happiness.  Other than making you feel at peace, one of the purposes of the Holy Ghost is to testify of truth.  I have always known that the feeling gets stronger and the peace is more profound when I’m being exposed to what is good and correct.  What I have only recently realized is how true it is that the feeling leaves when something spiritually incorrect is present.

When arguments are formed to try and make me doubt what I have felt and know to be true through the witness of the Holy Ghost, that feeling of continual inner peace and warmth vanishes.  This isn’t because I get upset, or whoever is posing the argument, often with the intent to help, is necessarily negative or contentious.  It’s simply because the Holy Ghost will never claim what isn’t true to be true.  His way of explaining what is wrong is by retracting His peace.  By experiencing and understanding this, I have come to a stronger understanding of divine truth, which has given me greater peace in my life.  Noticing when the Holy Ghost leaves has also made me pay closer attention to when He returns, and increased my gratitude for having this wonderful blessing in my life.  I would invite everyone to pay more attention to the feelings they receive from the Holy Ghost this week.  For everyone reading this entry, especially for those who are really wondering just what it is I’m going on about, I invite you to watch this talk by Elder Bednar:  https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2010/10/receive-the-holy-ghost

I know that paying attention to the feelings we receive from God, which can come to anyone who prays to have them, is important and will lead us to continued happiness.

Wishing everyone a great week,

Varstnicul Brown

Posted on January 13, 2015, in Elder Brown. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

